Criccieth Town Council

Y Maes, CricciethCriccieth became a borough under a charter granted by Edward I in 1284, and was the capital of Cantraf Eifionydd. The Criccieth Improvement Act 1873 created a board of improvement commissioners to govern the town and to take over the borough's property and from 1889 they formed a second tier of local government below Carnarfonshire County Council. Under the Local Government Act 1894 the improvement district became an urban district with a directly elected council, while the remainder of the civil parish was renamed Penllyn, and became part of Llŷn Rural District. The urban district was extended to include parts of Penllyn and Treflys in 1934 and part of Llanystumdwy in 1938. Criccieth Urban District was abolished in 1974 and the town became part of Dwyfor District in the county of Gwynedd, while retaining limited powers as a community. Dwyfor was abolished when Gwynedd became a unitary authority in 1996.

The town forms an electoral division of Cyngor Gwynedd Council, electing one councillor. Criccieth Town Council has 12 elected members.

Since 1950 Criccieth has been part of Caernarfon parliamentary constituency. In the National Assembly for Wales it forms part of Dwyfor Meirionnydd assembly constituency, which forms part of the electoral region of Mid and West Wales.


Criccieth o geg yr afon

Robert Cadwalader


Sian Williams


Phil Jones
Dafydd Lloyd
R.T. Price
Wayne Roberts
Eirwyn Williams
Angela Hughes
Dr Ian Rees
Ffion Meleri Gwyn
Alice Roberts
Nan Davies-Hughes

The Clerk

Dr Catrin Jones

Cae Gwenllian
LL52 0RB

(01766) 523294

Polling Station

Criccieth Memorial Hall